Auto-Import security

Security for Auto-Import

Opt In: Auto import is an optional feature users can choose to activate and can be turned off at anytime.  

User secure standards: When you setup your Gmail, Google Apps, Outlook, or Yahoo! Mail account, TripIt never asks for or stores your password. TripIt uses OAuth to authorize access to travel emails from your Gmail, Google Apps, Outlook, and Yahoo! Mail inbox, without ever needing your sign-in credentials. You can revoke OAuth access at any time, either from your TripIt account, or directly from Google.

Secure HTTPS for import: TripIt uses https (secure communication) to scan the headers of your inbox to look for travel plans. If TripIt finds a travel plan, it will parse the contents of the email for trip related information. If you have an existing trip with overlapping dates, TripIt will add the plan to your trip. If the plan is new, TripIt will create a new trip. All communication between your email account and TripIt is always secure. 

Revoking Authorization: You can revoke OAuth access at any time, either from your TripIt account, or directly from email provider

Additional Auto-Import Help:

Updated: Jun 13, 2017

Have more questions? Contact Support